Every Baseball Fan Needs to Learn These Weird KBO Rules

The KBO League has some interesting rules MLB fans should learn.
The KBO League has some interesting rules MLB fans should learn. / Chung Sung-Jun/Getty Images

Baseball fans getting into South Korea's KBO League will notice some familiar faces as many former MLB players are in the league.

The game itself is similar to what we're used to here in the United States. However, there are some different rules fans should be aware of.

Some simple rules are that every team uses a DH and only three foreign players are allowed on each team. The 2020 season is introducing a rule where all three can actually play in the same game.

The weird rules begin with the fact games have a 12-inning limit. That means games can end in ties, even in the postseason. Those games can last up to 15 innings, but if it ends in a draw the entire game is replayed. That is something MLB fans may not be able to wrap their heads around.

The league is also introducing an injured list with 10, 15, and 30-day limits. Yet there is one more weird rule that must be known when it comes to postseason play. The top team in the regular season automatically advances to the championship series. And if two teams are tied, a new rule states there will be a one-game playoff to determine who automatically advances to the Korean Series.

The KBO is a fun league where bat flips are a regular occurrence and players are allowed to show off some personality. While some of the rules are different, they won't take away from the fun of watching. Just don't be alarmed when a game ends in a tie.