LSU QB Joe Burrow Wins 2019 Heisman Trophy

Joe Burrow
Joe Burrow has won the 2019 Heisman Trophy. | Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

It was written in the stars ever since LSU toppled Alabama back on Nov. 9, and now it's official.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow was every bit of sensational for the Tigers in 2019, and his efforts have been rightfully awarded with this year's Heisman Trophy, beating out fellow finalists Chase Young, Jalen Hurts and Justin Fields.

Thoroughly deserved.

Burrow broke the record for most touchdowns thrown by an SEC quarterback in a single season with a whopping 48 tally. He also set a new mark for passing yards in a single year for an SEC gunslinger. That's to say nothing of the countless other school records he shattered in 2019.

For the year, Burrow completed 77.9 percent of his passes (342 of 439) for 4,715 yards, 48 touchdowns (which led the nation), and just six interceptions, adding 289 yards and three scores on the ground.

Though Young, Fields and Hurts all logged remarkable campaigns, there was simply no other choice than Burrow for the award.

Next up for the LSU legend will be a date with Hurts and No. 4 Oklahoma in the College Football Playoff Semifinals as he looks to cap his final season in Death Valley with a national championship.