VIDEO: Carson Wentz Clip From Week 2 Proves Refs' Explanation for Clowney Hit Was BS
By Jerry Trotta

Carson Wentz was knocked out of Sunday's Wild Card clash against the Seattle Seahawks after being on the wrong end of what appeared to be a dirty blow to the head from Jadeveon Clowney. The referees kept their flags in their holsters as they ruled that Wentz wasn't giving himself up, which is laughably ironic because back in Week 2, a similar play transpired. Wentz was ruled short of the end zone against the Atlanta Falcons because the zebras determined the complete opposite.
Back in Week 2, Carson Wentz dove for the goal line on a two-point attempt and was ruled short because he gave himself up. pic.twitter.com/dR7jDIIgTe
— Brandon Lee Gowton (@BrandonGowton) January 6, 2020
You could certainly make the argument that Wentz wasn't giving himself up in that clip. He was attempting to fight for a touchdown, hoping to dive across the goal line. On Sunday against Seattle, the Wentz dove in a similar fashion to avoid the precise hit that Clowney delivered.
There's simply no reason for the calls to be so contradictory.
Clowney being flagged shouldn't even have been the talking point here. The officials should have debated ejecting him from the contest entirely. Wentz was as defenseless as a player could be, and Clowney proceeded to spear him (with his helmet) into the turf.
Wentz dives forward on this play against the Seahawks and takes a helmet-to-helmet shot to the back of the head from Clowney. There’s no call because refs said he didn’t give himself up. #Eagles
— Brandon Lee Gowton (@BrandonGowton) January 6, 2020
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ pic.twitter.com/TbMFLHvVGZ
How Wentz is giving himself up while diving for a touchdown, but NOT giving himself up when trying to avoid getting pulverized by Clowney?
Eagles fans have every right to be furious.