Dallas Cowboys legendary wide receiver Drew Pearson, since his retirement, has received several honors, including his induction to the Cowboys Ring of Honor in 2011. 

And it seems like he will acquire another one as the NFF Gridiron Club of Dallas announced Pearson will be receiving the Distinguished Texan Award during their 11th Annual Award Banquet. 

​​Pearson played for the ​Cowboys from 1973-1983, racking up a career 7,822 yards and 48 touchdowns. The three-time All-Pro receiver also averaged a whooping 16 yards per reception and was selected to the Pro Bowl three times during his career.

In 1980, Pearson was selected to the 1970s All-Decade team by the ​Pro Football Hall of Fame. When he retired, he held several team records and appeared in three Super Bowls, winning one. 

This award has gone to several notable names over the years, such as Cowboys owner Jerry Jones and Cowboys legend Gil Brandt, so Pearson is certainly in good company.

This is definitely a huge honor for him and it's more than well deserved. Hopefully the next time we hear about Pearson, he will be awarded the honor that has eluded him for a long time -- ​a Hall of Fame induction.