One of the ​NBA's all-time great centers will have his number retired in February.

The ​Philadelphia 76ers announced the team will retire the late Moses Malone's No. 2 during a special halftime ceremony on Friday, Feb. 8, when the Sixers host the Denver Nuggets.

Prior to the game, Philadelphia will unveil a sculpture of Malone on the "76ers Legends Walk" at the Sixers Training Complex in Camden, N.J.

“Moses Malone is one of the greatest players in NBA history and he left an incredible mark on the 76ers organization and our fans,” said Philadelphia 76ers President of Business Operations Chris Heck. “He was such a pivotal force in the 76ers’ championship run in 1983, where he earned both NBA MVP and NBA Finals MVP honors. He is an NBA icon, a 76ers all-time great and we’re thrilled to be able to celebrate his accomplishments by retiring his number and unveiling his sculpture on 76ers Legends Walk in February. Our fans deserve to have this special moment to honor and recognize a player who paved the way for so many future 76ers.”

For fans who may not remember Malone, he was the first player to go from high school to professional basketball, when the ABA's Utah Stars drafted him in 1974. Malone was a three-time NBA MVP, 13-time All-Star (12 times in NBA, once in ABA), an NBA champion and a Finals MVP. 

Between the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar era and the Magic-Bird era, there was a brief Malone one where he won his three MVP awards, a world championship, and held the title as the "best player in the world."

Malone led the NBA in rebounding six times, and averaged more than 20 points per game for 11 consecutive seasons. The Hall-of-Fame center averaged a double-double in points and rebounds for his career. When Malone retired in 1995, he was the NBA's third leading rebounder, fifth leading scorer, and had made more free throws than any other player in history.

Malone played five seasons for the 76ers, averaging 21 points, 12 rebounds, and 1.3 blocks per game. He was an All-Star four straight seasons with Philadelphia from 1982-1986.