The NHL's best of the best will be led by four of the most gifted players we have in the league this year. 

​Auston Matthews, Alex Ovechkin, Nathan MacKinnon, and ​Connor McDavid will be captains for the All Star game on January 26th in San Jose. 

The foursome punched their ticket on the first ballot for the All Star game but they'll likely be joined by their teammates in due time. 

The captains were voted in by a fan ballot between Dec. 1-23 but this time around there weren't any options for John Scott to lead a side. Auston Matthews and MacKinnon will be making their third straight All-Star appearance but their first as captains. 

This will be Ovechkin's eighth All Star game, and he will captain the Metro Division for the second straight season. McDavid will also be captaining the Pacific Division for the second straight season in his third All Star appearance. 

All four deserve the honor, even if Matthews and MacKinnon aren't captains on their respective squads. 

The NHL All-Star game will take off on Jan. 25 with the Skills Competition and then the All Star game will take place on Jan. 26. The rest of the rosters will be decided by the NHL's Hockey Operations Department.