​The Orange Bowl has been a staple of college football since its creation in 1935. Taking place annually in the Miami-area since its birth, the Orange Bowl has seen many amazing moments over its 83-year history. Iconic legends such as Joe Namath and William "The Refrigerator" Perry to modern day stars like Andrew Luck and Deshaun Watson have all graced the stage of one of the most competitive and influential games of each college football season.

​Behind only the Rose Bowl, the Orange Bowl is also the second oldest bowl game in the country, tied with the Sugar Bowl and the Sun Bowl. Originally named the "Festival of Palms Bowl" in 1932, the Orange Bowl would succeed and revamp the old bowl, while changing the regulations which decided which teams could compete. 

At first, a school would be invited to take on the local team, Miami, yet the rules were changed in 1935 which allowed for any schools to be able to compete regardless of conference or location.

This year, the Orange Bowl will feature No. 1 ranked Alabama against No. 4 ranked Oklahoma Sooners in a semi-final game that will determine who will have a shot at the National Championship. 

Lets take a look at the past 10 Orange Bowl winners:

  • December 30th, 2017 - Wisconsin
  • December 30th, 2016 - Florida St.
  • December 31st, 2015 - Clemson
  • December 31st, 2014 - Georgia Tech.
  • January 3rd, 2014 - Clemson
  • January 1st, 2013 - Florida St.
  • January 4th, 2012 - West Virginia
  • January 3rd, 2011 - Stanford 
  • January 5th, 2010 - Iowa
  • January 1st, 2009 - Virginia Tech.

This year's matchup will surely be one to watch as the famous Orange Bowl will once again set the stage for the BCS National Championship game. Heisman winner Kyler Murray will try to take down Alabama and their stacked defense, as Tua Tagovailoa stands on the opposing sideline attempting to out-duel the Sooners QB and secure a victory to send 'Bama to the championship.