​He may not play a lick of professional football. But don't let anyone tell you that Kyler Murray doesn't know how to pitch the ball around.

After a stunning run through the Big 12 and securing a spot in the ​College Football Playoff, the ​Oklahoma Sooners quarterback has won the Heisman Trophy.

Murray, who was previously a first-round pick in the MLB draft by the Oakland Athletics, beat out two other superstar quarterbacks. With 2,167 total points in the voting, he prevailed over ​Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa (1,871) and ​Ohio State's Dwayne Haskins (783).

It's hard to hand the trophy to anyone else after the year the Sooners signal-caller had. 4,053 yards passing with 40 touchdowns, plus another 892 yards and 11 scores on the ground, isn't just Heisman-level production; it's all-time brilliance.

With former teammate Baker Mayfield taking home the honors last year, the Sooners now become just the third program ever to have two different players take home the award in back-to-back seasons.

Now, Murray will look to do what Mayfield could not-- bring the national championship back to Norman for the first time in 18 years.