LOS ANGELES, CA - OCTOBER 26:  Rick Porcello #22 of the Boston Red Sox delivers the pitch during the first inning against the Los Angeles Dodgers in Game Three of the 2018 World Series at Dodger Stadium on October 26, 2018 in Los Angeles, California.  (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Cy Young Award Winners Who Didn't Deserve to Win

The voters did the right thing in the MLB this season when they awarded Blake Snell and Jacob deGrom  the Cy Young Awards in their respective leagues. These two were the definition of dominant as they led the MLB in ERA this year. We haven't always seen winners this deserving, as there are a few players considered in the same fraternity of success that frankly didn't outfox the competition at all. These five hurlers particularly stand out as fraudulent recipients of Cy Young honors.

5. Bob Welch, 1990 Oakland Athletics

It's hard to imagine Roger Clemens earning another Cy Young, but he should've won it for his 1990 performance with the Boston Red Sox. He had a ridiculous 1.93 ERA, had a staggering 241 strikeouts, and a WAR of 10.6, all better than Welch. It was a much more dominant year for Clemens but Welch had the luxury of having run support with 27 wins. It's hard to call someone who won 27 wins "undeserving," but Clemens should've gotten the nod here. 

4. Chris Carpenter, 2005 St. Louis Cardinals

We promise, this isn't just a list of times Roger Clemens got snubbed. If the MLB treated deGrom like they did Clemens, this award would've gone straight to him. The Rocket had a ridiculous 1.87 ERA and a WHIP of 1.008 for the Astros. He only won 13 games, unfortunately, so Carpenter got the questionable nod here.

3. Rick Porcello, 2016 Boston Red Sox

Here's someone who benefitted from playing with a stellar offense. Porcello did have a solid year with a 3.15 ERA and a league-leading 22 wins, but he just wasn't dominant. He wasn't top 10 in ERA, WAR, hits per nine innings, or strikeouts per nine innings. What about someone who is sitting outside the top 10 in all those screams Cy Young? Justin Verlander's rampant year in Detroit was superior by just about any legitimate measure. 

2. Pete Vuckovich, 1982 Milwaukee Brewers

It's crazy to think that an 18-win season is the reason why someone ever won the Cy Young. Pete Vuckovich of the Brewers had and ERA of 3.34 with just three more strikeouts than walks. His 1.50 WHIP and his WAR of 2.7 are laughable, but this guy is still a Cy Young award winner? Go figure. It's so, so wrong.

1. Steve Bedrosian, 1987 Philadelphia Phillies

This is the definition of lucking out in a down year. There were a ton of players who led the various statistical categories, but there were other negative statistics or factors to balance them out. That led to Phillies reliever Steve Bedrosian winning the NL Cy Young. He gave up 11 home runs in 89 innings and had just 74 strikeouts to 28 walks. Those aren't Cy Young numbers by any means. He did have 40 saves that season, which is good for the 152nd-best save season in the history of the MLB. Quite the number for someone dubbed the best pitcher in his league.