​This year's Home Run Derby is shaping up to be a pretty lively event. 

On Wednesday night, Major League Baseball has announced the eight players who will be competing against each other during this year's All-Star festivities.

The sole representative from the American League will be Houston Astros third baseman Alex Bregman, who currently has 19 home runs. 

Bregman will face off against stiff competition from the National League. 

Washington Nationals megastar Bryce Harper, Atlanta Braves cornerstone Freddie Freeman, and Philadelphia Phillies young phenom Rhys Hoskins all come from the NL East. Los Angeles Dodgers sensation Max Muncy will be the lone player from the NL West.

The NL Central is loaded. Milwaukee Brewers breakout first baseman Jesus Aguilar and Chicago Cubs sluggers Kyle Schwarber and Javier Baez will all feature prominently in the Home Run Derby. 

Rumors abounded that Muncy and the ​pair of Chicago sluggers would participate in the event, and their veracity was ultimately proven tonight.  

Hoskins comes into the event with the least home runs, as he currently has hit 14. Aguilar leads the group with 23 dingers.

Get your popcorn ready, folks. These guys will be ready to put on a show.